Setting DB to read only (1 Viewer)

Neil07979

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 15:38
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
25
Should be an easy one for you:

I'm trying to set my database to read-only within the startup module based on if someone enters a valid password or not. I've got as far as a message saying that they only have read only access but am unsure of how to actually set the database to RO.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks
 

Guus2005

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 16:38
Joined
Jun 26, 2007
Messages
2,642
You could use the build in access security groups and users.
For each group you can set permissions for each object in your database.

It is not easy to do this however.

HTH
 

Neil07979

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 15:38
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
25
Was hoping to stay away from that - as I've never used this before.

Is't there a simple piece of code, similair to making a form read only, but making the whole Database read only?

Perhaps I'll have to delve into the world of User Security!!

Cheers, Neil
 

Guus2005

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 16:38
Joined
Jun 26, 2007
Messages
2,642
Using queries you can create a readonly environment on the fly.
A query i use:
Code:
SELECT * FROM leverancier IN '\\servername\user\Database\EDB2Data.mdb';
Set the Recordset Type to "Snapshot"
The result of this query is readonly.

When you do this for every table, your database is readonly.
Hope you never change your database to a different location!
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom