Should I be using a pass through query? (1 Viewer)

gojets1721

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 16:26
Please note: I'm very new to SQL so please bare with me. I apologize if this is a stupid question.

So my backend is in SQL and I'm using Access as my front end. When/If I utilize queries in Access, should I be using passthrough queries or just normal ones? I already have the SQL tables linked into access and every guide online about pass through implies that they should be used if the SQL tables aren't already linked into Access.

Suggestions? I'm aiming for the best performance possible so I was interested in knowing more about when/if to use pass through queries

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 00:26
The ODBC drivers make a very good job of optimising your queries from Access.
This can fall down if you use any user-defined functions from access VBA as the SQL server doesn't understand them, and can't use them.
At that point, move the function to SQL and then use a pass-through query or possibly better still a view if you want an editable recordset for a form.

Pass-throughs are only really of benefit if you want to run a parameterised stored procedure or something similar.

gojets1721

Registered User.
Local time
user-defined functions from access VBA
Could you provide an example?

In a nutshell, I really just want to filter down the data. It's a DB of customer complaints and so I wouldn't mind a query to filter down specifically to 'timeliness' related complaints, for instance. I'm unsure if that should be down through a pass through or just a regular ole access select query. I was concerned about reducing the performance of using an sql backend by foolishly utilizing the wrong query type

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
Let's say you have written a simple function in Access to add three days to a date (Aircode below untested!)

Code:
Function fnAddThreeDays(dDate as Date)

fnAddThreeDays = Dateadd("d",3,dDate)

End Function

Now you have a query like

Code: