Should I be using Access? - Debate (1 Viewer)

Richio

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 15:36
What started out 18 months ago as a small project to get my head around Access has now turned into the "lifeblood" of the business.

The systems in place all revolve around a central Access database (which I continually add to) without which the Company would obviously struggle.

The system is run over a network with up to ten users at any one point in time - the current file size about 8.5Mb.

My question (and constant worry at the back of my mind) is....Is Access the best platform to rely upon?

I find Access great as I can use it myself to tailor my own needs as opposed to translate my needs to a third party developer. But I am no professional and continue to keep my fingers crossed that it will continue to work.

Has anyone had similar experiences where they reach a point where help is needed or have to switch to another system

Thanks

Newman

Québécois
Local time
Today, 10:36
The db I'm working on right now has ~50 users from two different buildings and it has 30Mb.
I would not worry if I were you.
Yes, it has limits, but it should not be a problem for you.
Could learn SQL, Oracle Designer and Oracle Developer, but I'm not sure it is worth it for such a small db.
Access is not the best platform.
It is the best platform for you!
1-Your database is small
2-You already know how to use Access
3-You already own Access (Although there is MySQL which is free)
4-You have friends in this forum:D

Newman

pono1

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 07:36
Richio,