Single master table or parent/child - best practice? (2 Viewers)

Charlie8585

Local time
Today, 23:19
I'm fairly new to databases. I'm preparing to start a little (experimental) company packing frozen smoothie mix packs for people. Constructing an Access Database to keep track of recipes & nutritional info.

Here's problem I'm not sure on. I have 'master' table tblIngredients containing information about ingredients I'm using, mainly nutritional info, (fats, kJ, carbohydrates etc.). However I'd also like to put in cost (to me) of each ingredient (e.g. I can buy a 500g bag of frozen strawberries at Tesco for £2, 1 kg of peanuts off Amazon for £10 etc.)

My question is: is it best practice to put price field (PricePer100g) for each ingredient in tblIngredients or in a separate table tblIngredientPrices, linked to tblIngredients by a one-to-one relationship (e.g. IngredientID)?

If I just wanted PricePer100g it would be most straightforward to just put it on tblIngredients. However I'd also like to record specific pricing info of how I got to that price, for example checking price of frozen blueberries: DatePriceChecked (9/4/2022), Retailer (e.g. 'Tesco'), SpecificProduct (e.g. 'Tesco Special Frozen Blueberries, 350g') etc. and it will change from time to time. It doesn't seem right to put all that information on tblIngredients with all the nutritional info.

What is the correct way to structure this sort of thing?

GPGeorge

Grover Park George
Local time
Today, 16:19
"...and it will change from time to time..."
That's your answer. The values will change, and if it matters both WHEN and HOW they change, you need a table for IngredientPrices to capture that history of changes.

Charlie8585

Local time
"...and it will change from time to time..."
That's your answer. The values will change, and if it matters both WHEN and HOW they change, you need a table for IngredientPrices to capture that history of changes.