Training & Development (1 Viewer)

mous

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 22:59
I would be grateful if someone would take the time to read, give any useful advice, recommend any WM based training companies or point me in a starting direction, my head is ready to blow.

I have self-taught myself MS Access for 7 years now (bad I know) and from this have created several simple databases used by many staff in the College in which I work. They do include some basic programming.

These databases are extremely useful to staff but to be honest, they are at breaking point.

I have now been given the task of re-creating these databases in SQL and linking its data to Access / VB Applications / Web Front End (What's the difference?)

I'm toying with the idea of doing courses first of in:

1. SQL Database Design and Implementation
2. SQL Database Administration

but I'm hearing that I must do A+ / networking fundamentals first. Is this right?? Someone has even suggest the HNC course (do I really have time for this? - I'm talking within the next year or I must so have made some progress on converting these databases somehow and creating a least two forms / front ends for them.

I'm thinking I should also take:

3. An Access Developers Course
4. Visual Basic
5. Business Analysis/Project Management
6. HTML

I've been given a great opportunity here to further my career but haven't a clue where to start. Although I have bought the MS Press books (a while ago now), I'm afraid its not sinking in.

What is myPHP / mySQL / asp.net?

I do have resources available to me at work but without a definite starting point ....

Thanks for your time.
Dawn

llkhoutx

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 16:59
myPHP is a free opensource web programming alanguage.

mySQL is a free opensource database.

ASP.Net is a web programming lanuage.

Forget HTML at this time.

Take a look at JAVA, NetBeans is an excellent widely used IDE for JAVA development.