Use List Box to Open Form (1 Viewer)

cambonner

Local time
Yesterday, 23:41
Please help me with a problem I'm having constructing a database for a local food pantry. As an Access 2007 beginner, I can't figure out how to link names of clients in a list box to the chosen Client Data Entry Form. My list box is in its own form, with its contents derived from the first & last name fields of the main Client Info table. I want the db user (any of a number of db-phobic volunteers) to easily navigate to a client's record in order to update information. I've built a macro that opens the Client Data Entry Form when the name on the list box is double-clicked. However, this action always opens the form at the first record, not the record of the chosen name. The list box design view shows it as unbound. I assume it needs to be bound, but don't know how to do this. Any/All help appreciated.
Cameron

cambonner

Local time
John,
Thanks so much for leading me to the code that allows list box searches. The code works well, but I still can't get the found name in the SearchResults box to open the person's form on a double-click. In fact, the double-click produces no response. I've used the exact names provided in your example, except for the form I need to open, which is called fExisting Client Data Form. Any suggestions?
Thanks,
Cameron

PS: I've gotten the right form to open on double click, but not the right record. It takes me to a blank (new) record. I've written this code, which I assume is the source of my problem:
Private Sub SearchResults_DblClick(Cancel As Integer)
DoCmd.OpenForm "fExisting Client Data Form", acNormal, , "Last Name" = Me.SearchResults
End Sub

Last edited:

cambonner

Local time
John,
I can send you the db (about 1MB) via Dropbox, but I need to have email or facebook contact info. Or, as an email attachment.
Thanks for your help.
Cameron

John Big Booty

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 13:41
Just do a compact and repair on it, put it in a zip file and upload that.