Solved Using Add Existing Fields to Create Combo Boxes (1 Viewer)

CammoLammo

Local time
Tomorrow, 06:45
Hi,
I'm new to Access and I'm trying to make an entry form for the orders in my database. I have been using the Add Existing Fields option to add the different attributes to the form and for the Payment Type a combo box is created where I can only choose from the given payment types, when I do the same thing for the Customer First Name a combo box is not created. Whenever I add the CustID to the form the ID is also duplicated and a new field is created called CustID_Customer(1,2,3,etc). Attached is a picture of the Add Existing Fields section I'm referring to. The relationships between Customer and Order are identical to the relationships between PaymentType and Order (many Customer/Payment Type to one Order) so I'm not sure why they are behaving differently. There is also an image below showing the PaymentType combo box and the lack of a combo box under CustFirstName. Does anybody know how I can change the CustFirstName to a combo box that only contains Customers in my Customer table and that displays the related Customer for each entry and also how I can stop the CustID primary key from being duplicated.

Thanks for any help!

Add Existing Fields.PNG
1585559929228.png

bastanu

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 15:45
I suspect you have the PaymentType set up as a lookup filed in the PaymentType table and that is the reason why it is created as a combo box by default. While many use the lookup feature most advanced programmers avoid it as it can create issues that are hard to identify. See http://access.mvps.org/access/lookupfields.htm for more info.