VBA code to run queries on specific tables (1 Viewer)

moscgama

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 01:18
Hi,

First, sorry if this is posted in the wrong thread! I couldn't decide where it actually goes.

Anyways, I am pretty new to VBA coding and need some help with running queries on specific tables. This is part of a multistep process, of importing data that needs to be transposed before appending to the "cleaned" database. First, users will save auto generated, Excel workbooks from a machine into a designated folder. I have code that will import these workbooks (an unknown number at a time) into Access in separate tables by workbook. Each table will have a similar name, but different extension (ie Sheet101, Sheet102, etc.). This is where the issue arises. The files are in long form, not wide. I have a series of queries (unfortunately, they're not SQL queries, but I can convert them to be) that transform the data from long to wide. However, I do not know how to go about writing code that will run the queries ONLY on the imported tables (again an unknown number of tables with similar names), not the rest of the tables in my database. I'm guessing it involves a do loop, but I am not positive.

I would really appreciate any advice you may have! Please let me know if you have any questions, or if I need to be more clear.

Thanks,

moscgama

TJPoorman

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 23:18
This code will loop through all the tables and the if statement would fire your code only where the table name is like "Sheet*":

Code:
Dim tdf As TableDef

For Each tdf In CurrentDb.TableDefs
    If tdf.Name Like "Sheet*" Then
        'Run your code here
    End If
Next

moscgama

Registered User.
Local time
Hi TJPoorman,