Visual Basic problem (1 Viewer)

davegillian

Local time
Today, 16:50
I have a form that filters certain records out of a table "Customer Details" in my database via the Y/N field Checked where the value is No.

I want a command button on the form that will run a macro that will update the Checked value to Yes and then move to the next record (displaying it in the same form) until the last form is displayed at which point I would like the value to be updated and the form to be closed.

Using the GoToRecord - Next action in my Macro I can achieve the first part but when the last record is reached an error message is displayed.

I think I can get around this by using the EOF command in Visual Basic but I am new to this language and the code I've written is clearly not correct!

Could anyone suggest a correction to my code or another method for this?

Cheers,

Dave

Function Mark_As_Checked___Move_To_Next_Record()
On Error GoTo Mark_As_Checked___Move_To_Next_Record_Err

DoCmd.OpenQuery "Mark As Checked", acViewNormal, acEdit

Dim stDocName As String
Dim Unchecked As Recordset

Set Unchecked = [new training db].OpenRecordset(SelSQl = "SELECT [Customer Details].* FROM [Customer Details] WHERE ((([Customer Details].Checked)=No));", dbOpenDynaset)

stDocName = "Mark As Checked"

Do Until Unchecked.EOF
DoCmd.OpenQuery stDocName
DoCmd.GoToRecord , "", acNext
Loop

stDocName = "Customer Details Complete"

DoCmd.Close stDocName

Mark_As_Checked___Move_To_Next_Record_Exit:
Exit Function

Mark_As_Checked___Move_To_Next_Record_Err:
MsgBox Error$
Resume Mark_As_Checked___Move_To_Next_Record_Exit

End Function

davegillian

Local time
I have an update query to update my field but how will that help with the do until loop? The point of this bit of code I'm stuck on would be to DO run update query and move to next record UNTIL record=last (EOF?) THEN run update query and close object (form).

Cheers,

Dave

Rich said:
Just use an UpdateQuery

Last edited:
R

Rich