Whats the Difference between a Sub and a Function (1 Viewer)

Cowboy_BeBa

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 19:14
So im mostly self taught when it comes to VBA but i do have some programming experience

Usually when im coding a form ill define all my functions in Private Sub's (i know i can probably set them to Public, but ive never really needed em to be accessed by other forms (i think thats what the diff is between those but ive never really tested it)

And in Modules i usually use Functions and have all my code in there

Not sure why i do this, i guess i was using private subs, then when i started coding modules i mustve seen some code with Function in it on another module (when i was looking for examples) and just started using em

They both seem to work the same, ive never tried creating a function in a forms vba or a sub in a modules vba, but im assuming theyll work (i could be wrong), so it leads to the question, whats the difference between em?

Frothingslosh

Premier Pale Stale Ale
Local time
Today, 07:14
Functions return values, Subs don't. (If you don't specify a data type when declaring a function, the function returns a Variant.)

Functions can often be run as subs if you don't care about the return, but the reverse isn't true without ByRef games.

Cowboy_BeBa

Registered User.
Local time
Thanks Froth, that makes sense to me

Frothingslosh

Premier Pale Stale Ale
Local time
Oh, as to Private vs Public.

As a rule, anything declared as Private is visible only within the module where it is declared, while anything declared Public is available throughout the project.