WIFI connection without router? (1 Viewer)

missinglinq

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 12:58
First let me say that while I’ve been writing code for 30 years, my understanding of the mechanics of computers is just what I’ve picked up, here and there. I usually leave that kind of stuff to the techies.

Have a home setup with two ‘stationary’ laptops running on WIFI with a standard setup of a modem and a router, courtesy of Comcast. Have always had a problem, at times, of being dropped, sometimes frequently, but always at times of heavy traffic, i.e. weekends, holidays, etc.

Usually end up unplugging modem and router, plugging in modem again and waiting for it to boot up, then plugging in router again. Usually it works, but not always.

Went thru this routine last week, but after rebooting the modem, went off to do a few chores. Went back online and checking my speed, found it to be well above what I pay for. Worked awhile then realized there was something I hadn’t done. Has anyone caught that?

I hadn’t reconnected the router! Checked the second laptop…it was online with excellent speed! Same behavior exhibited for the past week! How is this possible without a router?

Just out of curiosity, I re-connected the router and the speeds immediately dropped abysmally! Disconnected them and speeds returned to outstanding?

Linq ;0)>

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 17:58
If the modem is "passing through" the connection details the router may be an unnecessary part of the chain.

I gave up with Provider supplied Hubs/routers years ago, and purchased a dedicated Linksys one.
I need to reboot it maybe once every six months worst case.

NauticalGent

Ignore List Poster Boy
Local time
It is my understanding that routers are mainly to set up a home network between your devices. The modem is what brings the service to the house.

If your router is slowing things down then leave it unplugged!

Uncle Gizmo

Nifty Access Guy
Staff member
Local time