Zeros Dropped (1 Viewer)

nonrev1

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 13:50
I have several thousand records already in a table. Each record should be identified by an 8 digit number but many began with a zero which was dropped so that those now show as a 7 digit number. Can I do an update query that will add a beginning 0 to all of the numbers that are 7 digits? If so, could someone assist me with the expression? The name of the field is [Branch]. TIA

lewando_bria

BoRiS
Local time
Hey nonrev...this is my first time replying to someone to try and help them so i might not be good at it...also, i'm a beginner at access so i would imagine my method is not too practical...but may get the job done....here we go...

I'm not sure what an update query is, but you could run a query to start a new row with all the new numbers....

first i set the value of the old number field ([Number]) to be text and put a mask on it so that it only allows digits 0-9 and only eight of them...in this way any new numbers you put in you wont have to worry about leaving out the zeros....

after that i ran a query to get a new number...the query field entry looked like this:

NewNum: GetZero([Number])

***calling a Public Function written in VBA

the function looked like this:

Public Function GetZero(nmbr As String) As String

Dim seven As String

seven = nmbr

If Len(seven) = 7 Then
seven = "0" + seven
End If

GetZero = seven

End Function

lewando_bria

BoRiS
Local time
Hey nonrev...this is my first time replying to someone to try and help them so i might not be good at it...also, i'm a beginner at access so i would imagine my method is not too practical...but may get the job done....here we go...

I'm not sure what an update query is, but you could run a query to start a new row with all the new numbers....