I can't write SQL Statements. (1 Viewer)

Uncle Gizmo

Nifty Access Guy
Staff member
Local time
Today, 09:24
I can't write SQL Statements.
I, and I suspect many other MS Access developers struggle to write SQL Statements. The reason? they seldom have to write them, MS Access has a marvellous interface for making it very simple and easy to create an SQL Statement hence as a developer I rarely have to sit down and work out how to build one, in fact, when I do, I often find myself searching for examples with Google.

In this YouTube Video I demonstrate how you can build an SQL Statement without writing any SQL!

Cronk

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 20:24
I largely agree with you about writing SQL statements. But I use the Access query interface to generate SQL faster and more accurately for posting into code with any tweaking as necessary. Same thing when I need to generate code for automation with Excel, Word and other Office products.

So lack of proficiency is an outcome of having tools to get an outcome more efficiently and effectively. By the way, I'm not so good at machine level coding as I used to be, nor shifting gears in manual transmission cars.

Micron

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 05:24
nor shifting gears in manual transmission cars.
Now there's a reference you don't see every day! I'd like to see if I can still shift through 13 speeds on a Fuller RT915. Probably not.

Uncle Gizmo

Nifty Access Guy
Staff member
Local time
nor shifting gears in manual transmission cars.

I am fortunate in that I have flip-flopped between manual and automatic over the years. I'm quite happy in either. Currently I have an automatic car and a gear shift truck.