Need to create a database that can retrieve records from multiple tables. (1 Viewer)

RBCCFD

Local time
Today, 09:37
I am new to Access. I know the very basics. For my work I need to create a database that search for any keyword to retrieve records. I have 4 tables. A SITE table with file number, address, description, TMS # and links to file location and GIS image. A BUIDINGS table, because we have multiple buildings at some sites, with similar info. A PROJECTS table for work order or tasks that can involve numerous sites and building at the same time. A DEPARTMENT table, for departments effected/involved in the project. We need to be able to search by keyword or fields from all the tables to retrieve all records that involved and related to each other, all that in a form design. I have created one form with SITE fields and made subforms for other tables into this form to view or edit them. Had to use subforms in order to get it to work, I was going to use tabs but all records would not show when I entered all table data into the form. I would guess I need to create queries for a keyword text box with list box requery, and queries for text boxes for field text boxes, but not sure how to write the functions or codes needed to make them work. Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Attachments

• BetaDatabase.accdb
    2 MB · Views: 397

moke123

AWF VIP
Local time
A few things before you get started:
Fix your naming convention. Do not use spaces in object and field names. Do not use special characters in object and field names. You have a field "# of structures"
Get rid of the lookup fields in your tables- project list table
Google "the evil of lookup fields"
I would use an autonumber primary key

Last edited:

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 13:37
You would need filter/criteria for each table. Each sub form would need to be unbound to the parent form

your criteria/filter would need to look at each field so use OR between each comparison