Does an Access query negate the benefits of utilizing SQL (1 Viewer)

gojets1721

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 04:05
Full disclosure, I'm completely new to SQL so I apologize if this is a silly question.

I am using SQL as a backend and access as a front end. In general, does using a query to filter data for a form negate some of the speed and performance of SQL?

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
You are wanting a blanket answer but one cannot (honestly) be provided. It all depends.

Here are a few notes, in no particular order and not necessarily related, that I've observed over the years:

1. It is common for people to point out that simply using SQL Server as a back end is not a cure-all for performance, as extremely low-performance design is still very possible. While I agree with that statement, it's also worth pointing out that sometimes, simply using SQL Server will, in fact, cause things to speed up - but we avoid saying that (I think) because we don't want people to be lazy and use bad habits, just hoping the mere move to SQL will erase the consequences, which is fine, but it's still a fact nonetheless in my experience.
  2. It is true that if you are going to use SQL Server, you can often realize a major gain in performance by using pass-through queries, written in T-SQL (not Access, but saved in Access), and executed on the server. And in that case, my point #1 becomes especially relevant - where you often WILL see major performance gains, even if the SQL/query/performance-related design is not great and even if it's exactly the same as it was in Access. Again, we encourage people to do good design - not just move to a faster processor - but there's nothing wrong, I think, with pointing it out. Use a table with 20 million records and see how fast Access can return (and render on screen) "select * from table" vs. SQL Server, and the point is made.
To my mind, beyond those two points, nothing further can be made in the form of a blanket statement.