Hi from Cajun Country (well, close to it...) (1 Viewer)

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 06:05
You guys know me as The_Doc_Man, but at work it is either Rich or Doc. No, I'm not a stuck up snob on the Ph.D. issue; there is another Rich on the same project, so when he's around, HE's Rich and I'm Doc, because he's a manager and I'm not.

I'm a New Orleans (suburbs) native, so when I started college, I chose a local school. I started programming in 1968 (or so) at the Univ. of New Orleans before it was called UNO. Originally it was Louisiana State Univ. at New Orleans. My Bachelor's degree (in Chemistry) is from LSUNO but my PhD in Analytical Chemistry is from UNO - and they both have the same address! It was just a name change maybe 40 years ago. My dissertation was on a topic in inorganic chemistry but I used a computer to do the data gathering as well as the analysis.

My first "real" job was as a device-driver writer for a small company that made automated control systems for the petroleum industry. Again, I was doing data gathering and analysis on-line based on chemical properties. I can honestly say that systems I've built ran for 20+ years in at least three continents and maybe about 30 states in the USA.

My mom's failing health (Alzheimer's) plus a 1985 oil-industry down-turn caused me to change careers totally, to a purely computing environment. I did a bunch of navigational math and systems work. Wasn't bad, wasn't great, and it kept money in the bank, food on the table. I survived it OK.