Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Macros

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-30-2019, 06:06 PM   #1
NearImpossible
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 145
Thanks: 75
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
NearImpossible is on a distinguished road
Custom Right Click Menu

I am using the full version of access to create my database, however the end users only have the Access Run-Time so there is no Right Clicking.

I followed the steps shown here, however whenever I right click, I don't get the menu.

I set it on the Form Properties > Other Tab

For my commands i'm using "Copy" and "Paste" however they both have an exclamation next to them and when I mouse over, it says Unsafe Action.

I've set the database to be Trusted as well as turned on Enable All Macros, but still no luck.

Any Thoughts

NearImpossible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2019, 06:08 PM   #2
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 7,294
Thanks: 66
Thanked 1,685 Times in 1,640 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Custom Right Click Menu

Hi. I have followed the same instructions before but don't remember running into any problems.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2019, 06:14 PM   #3
NearImpossible
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 145
Thanks: 75
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
NearImpossible is on a distinguished road
Re: Custom Right Click Menu

Quote:
Originally Posted by theDBguy View Post
Hi. I have followed the same instructions before but don't remember running into any problems.
That is the story of my life

NearImpossible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2019, 06:16 PM   #4
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 7,294
Thanks: 66
Thanked 1,685 Times in 1,640 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Custom Right Click Menu

Quote:
Originally Posted by NearImpossible View Post
That is the story of my life
So, can you post the two macros you created? Thanks.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2019, 06:28 PM   #5
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 7,294
Thanks: 66
Thanked 1,685 Times in 1,640 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Custom Right Click Menu

Hi. Check out this other thread where I posted the same link and also uploaded a demo file using it. Hope it helps...
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2019, 06:37 PM   #6
NearImpossible
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 145
Thanks: 75
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
NearImpossible is on a distinguished road
Re: Custom Right Click Menu

Could you post that zip file here? Its telling me I need an account to download it.

Here are the screen shots of the macros and form properties, I just used the same names as the tutorial for the macros
Attached Images
File Type: png Form Properties.PNG (10.1 KB, 13 views)
File Type: png mcrAddShortcutMenu.PNG (3.7 KB, 13 views)
File Type: png mcrShortcutMenuCommands.PNG (5.6 KB, 13 views)

Last edited by NearImpossible; 10-30-2019 at 06:42 PM.
NearImpossible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2019, 06:38 PM   #7
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 7,294
Thanks: 66
Thanked 1,685 Times in 1,640 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Custom Right Click Menu

Quote:
Originally Posted by NearImpossible View Post
Could you post that zip file here? Its telling me I need an account to download it.

Here are the screen shots of the macros and form properties
Here you go. It looks like you got it right though.
Attached Files
File Type: zip ShortcutMenuDemo.zip (19.4 KB, 14 views)

__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theDBguy For This Useful Post:
NearImpossible (10-30-2019)
Old 10-30-2019, 06:43 PM   #8
NearImpossible
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 145
Thanks: 75
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
NearImpossible is on a distinguished road
Re: Custom Right Click Menu

I put the macro in the wrong spot on the properties , its working on the form, however if I add it to a text box, I get the regular Right Click menu.

Ill check out your demo


EDIT: I added it to the subform containing the text box and it works.

Think its time for bed......
NearImpossible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2019, 06:45 PM   #9
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 7,294
Thanks: 66
Thanked 1,685 Times in 1,640 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Custom Right Click Menu

Quote:
Originally Posted by NearImpossible View Post
EDIT: I put the macro in the wrong spot on the properties , its working on the form, however if I add it to a text box, I get the regular Right Click menu.

Ill check out your demo
Well, it's just a small demo. I'm not sure it will cover what you want, but let me know either way.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theDBguy For This Useful Post:
NearImpossible (10-30-2019)
Old 10-30-2019, 06:46 PM   #10
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 7,294
Thanks: 66
Thanked 1,685 Times in 1,640 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Custom Right Click Menu

LOL. I couldn't wait, so I added a Textbox to my demo, and it still worked. Hope it works for you too. Cheers!
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theDBguy For This Useful Post:
NearImpossible (10-30-2019)
Old 12-09-2019, 06:01 PM   #11
NearImpossible
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 145
Thanks: 75
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
NearImpossible is on a distinguished road
Re: Custom Right Click Menu

Revisiting this thread as I am running into another issue.

What I would like to do is give the user the ability to insert a row with the right click menu, which I added that command, however whenever I right click and select it, I get the following error message

The command or action "Insert Rows" isn't available now

Data Entry and Allow Additions are both set to Yes

any thoughts ??
NearImpossible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 06:22 PM   #12
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 7,294
Thanks: 66
Thanked 1,685 Times in 1,640 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Custom Right Click Menu

Quote:
Originally Posted by NearImpossible View Post
Revisiting this thread as I am running into another issue.

What I would like to do is give the user the ability to insert a row with the right click menu, which I added that command, however whenever I right click and select it, I get the following error message

The command or action "Insert Rows" isn't available now

Data Entry and Allow Additions are both set to Yes

any thoughts ??
I may have to see exactly what you added. Can you post a demo?
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theDBguy For This Useful Post:
NearImpossible (12-09-2019)
Old 12-09-2019, 07:23 PM   #13
NearImpossible
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 145
Thanks: 75
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
NearImpossible is on a distinguished road
Re: Custom Right Click Menu

Quote:
Originally Posted by theDBguy View Post
I may have to see exactly what you added. Can you post a demo?
See Attached
Attached Images
File Type: png Menu.PNG (35.0 KB, 13 views)
NearImpossible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 07:42 PM   #14
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 7,294
Thanks: 66
Thanked 1,685 Times in 1,640 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Custom Right Click Menu

Quote:
Originally Posted by NearImpossible View Post
See Attached
Ah, looks like you may be using the wrong command. I think that one is for inserting a new criteria row in the query grid. If you want to navigate the form to a new record, then try using GotoRecord.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theDBguy For This Useful Post:
NearImpossible (12-09-2019)
Old 12-09-2019, 08:00 PM   #15
NearImpossible
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 145
Thanks: 75
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
NearImpossible is on a distinguished road
Re: Custom Right Click Menu

Quote:
Originally Posted by theDBguy View Post
Ah, looks like you may be using the wrong command. I think that one is for inserting a new criteria row in the query grid. If you want to navigate the form to a new record, then try using GotoRecord.

This particular table is the contacts table [Title] [Name] [WorkPhone] [CellPhone] [Email]

and what I was hoping to accomplish was give the user the ability to insert a new row in the middle of existing rows to keep everyone with the same title grouped together.

No biggie, i'll just order them by the Title whenever the form is opened and all will be good.

So the Title is a dropdown menu, is it possible to sort by the 2nd column, because i'm not having any luck with the following set in the forms order by field

Title.Column(1)


Thanks again for your vast knowledge and willingness to assist, i'm learning new things every day !!


Last edited by NearImpossible; 12-09-2019 at 08:24 PM.
NearImpossible is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Create custom right-click menu for a form jsmith2 Modules & VBA 2 05-23-2018 05:48 PM
Custom database right click menu guestbb General 1 12-27-2015 07:14 PM
Custom right click shortcut menu guestbb General 4 08-21-2015 11:00 AM
Creating Custom Right Click Menu to act on Highlighted text . eddyc Modules & VBA 0 04-08-2011 09:10 AM
Can I have a custom icon on my custom right click contaxt menu darbid Modules & VBA 1 08-12-2010 10:01 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:32 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World