Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Modules & VBA

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-08-2018, 09:51 AM   #1
isladogs
Part time moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 7,445
Thanks: 92
Thanked 1,834 Times in 1,704 Posts
isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light
Access/Windows/Office365 Version Checker

Attached is a simple utility for checking the following:
a) Windows version & bitness (32/64-bit)
b) Access version & bitness
c) Whether Office 365 is installed



Save this to a trusted location or click Enable Content
It will then automatically collect the info similar to that below.
It will take a couple of seconds or so to complete

I have included both a) & b) in previous uploads but c) is new.
I would appreciate feedback from forum members as to whether it correctly detects whether Office 365 is installed (or not)

Detecting Office 365 is more difficult because the same version numbering is used for both retail & subscription versions of Access
Instead the code checks for a ClickToRun registry key - if it exists, you have Office 365.

For example, it looks for this key on pure 32-bit or pure 64-bit systems:
Code:
Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Office\ClickToRun\REGISTRY\MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Office\16.0\Access Connectivity Engine\Engines
For 32-bit Office on 64-bit Windows, it looks for:
Code:
Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Office\ClickToRun\REGISTRY\MACHINE\Software\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Office\16.0\Access Connectivity Engine\Engines
I've successfully tested it on 4 different PCs with:
- Windows/Access both 32-bit
- Windows/Access both 64-bit
- 64-bit Windows & 32-bit Access
- dual installation of Access 2010 & Access 365 (as in the screenshot)

However, if any Access 365 users have different Access 365 registry keys than those I've listed, the code would not detect it being installed. Which is what I'm indirectly trying to check.

Once I know the Office365 part works for other people, I can use similar code to write to the registry in another utility

Please could you let me know whether or not the Office 365 check works correctly for you and which versions/bitnesses of Access/Windows you have.
Many thanks

NOTE: I am also posting this at 2 other forums to get more feedback
Attached Images
File Type: png Access&WindowsChecker.PNG (13.0 KB, 146 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip AccessVersionChecker.zip (58.9 KB, 20 views)

__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Colin
Previously known as ridders : Access 2010 32-bit, Access 2016 32-bit & 64-bit, SQL Server Express 2014, Windows 10,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by isladogs; 12-08-2018 at 02:23 PM.
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 05:03 AM   #2
isladogs
Part time moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 7,445
Thanks: 92
Thanked 1,834 Times in 1,704 Posts
isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Access/Windows/Office365 Version Checker

I've had feedback that this didn't run in A2007 - caused by the use of themes on buttons

Two new versions attached - MDB & modified ACCDB for 2007
I've now tested the MDB version in A2003 and both versions in A2007
Attached Files
File Type: zip AccessVersionCheckerMDB.zip (41.8 KB, 10 views)
File Type: zip AccessVersionChecker2007.zip (47.1 KB, 11 views)
__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Colin
Previously known as ridders : Access 2010 32-bit, Access 2016 32-bit & 64-bit, SQL Server Express 2014, Windows 10,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 09:08 AM   #3
MickJav
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Margate
Posts: 618
Thanks: 31
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
MickJav is on a distinguished road
Re: Access/Windows/Office365 Version Checker

I'm on a 64 bit laptop with office 365 installed which didn't show


Attached Images
File Type: png 2018-12-09.png (17.6 KB, 85 views)

__________________
After 20 years working with access i have no more hair to give.


Database Dreams home page:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Project Manager - Developer help information:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MickJav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 09:34 AM   #4
isladogs
Part time moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 7,445
Thanks: 92
Thanked 1,834 Times in 1,704 Posts
isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Access/Windows/Office365 Version Checker

Hi Mick
Thanks for the reply.
OK so you have 32-bit Office & 64-bit Windows
Please could you check 3 things for me.

1. What does your About Access menu item say (in File menu).
This is mine (using 32-bit Office & 32-bit Windows)


2. Could you search the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE hive in the registry for this key (or something very similar)
Code:
Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Office\ClickToRun\REGISTRY\MACHINE\Software\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Office\16.0\Access Connectivity Engine\Engines
It should look something like this:


Do you have a SystemDB string value similar to this (as that's what I'm scanning for).
If not could you post:
a) the full registry key path for the Engines folder on your system
b) a screenshot of what you do have in the folder

Also could you open the ACE subfolder & post what you have there.
This is mine



Thanks in advance
Attached Images
File Type: png AboutAccess.PNG (4.2 KB, 81 views)
File Type: png CTRRegistryKey.PNG (12.5 KB, 80 views)
File Type: png CTRRegistryKey2.PNG (30.0 KB, 81 views)
__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Colin
Previously known as ridders : Access 2010 32-bit, Access 2016 32-bit & 64-bit, SQL Server Express 2014, Windows 10,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 09:38 AM   #5
Gasman
Access newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Swansea, South Wales,UK
Posts: 2,719
Thanks: 318
Thanked 427 Times in 412 Posts
Gasman has a spectacular aura about Gasman has a spectacular aura about
Re: Access/Windows/Office365 Version Checker

Reports correctly for me as well in 2007 with 32bit Win10 pro
__________________
Access novice. Sometimes trying to give something back.
Access 2007


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gasman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 09:56 AM   #6
isladogs
Part time moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 7,445
Thanks: 92
Thanked 1,834 Times in 1,704 Posts
isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Access/Windows/Office365 Version Checker

Thanks Paul

FYI:
I think I've got the definitive explanation of why some of my A2010 ACCDB apps run in 2007 but not all.
If there is a startup form containing themed buttons, you will get an 'unrecognised database format' error at startup

Possible workround which may work for you in an 'emergency'
Open using the shift key bypass if it lets you
Remove the startup form.
Now open that form in design view and replace themed buttons with ordinary buttons.

I've fixed a few problems with running apps in 2007 by:
a) converting ACCDB to MDB in A2010
b) opening MDB in 2007 & converting back to ACCDB
__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Colin
Previously known as ridders : Access 2010 32-bit, Access 2016 32-bit & 64-bit, SQL Server Express 2014, Windows 10,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by isladogs; 12-10-2018 at 09:53 AM.
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to isladogs For This Useful Post:
Gasman (12-09-2018)
Old Yesterday, 03:21 AM   #7
isladogs
Part time moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 7,445
Thanks: 92
Thanked 1,834 Times in 1,704 Posts
isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Access/Windows/Office365 Version Checker

An updated version of this utility has been posted to the code repository
https://www.access-programmers.co.uk...35#post1603335

This fixes issues experienced by users with 32-bit Access running in 64-bit Windows


__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Colin
Previously known as ridders : Access 2010 32-bit, Access 2016 32-bit & 64-bit, SQL Server Express 2014, Windows 10,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
access version , office365 check , windows version

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to create a web version checker isladogs Sample Databases 7 07-18-2018 11:46 AM
Which version best under Windows 7 smallzoo General 1 03-10-2014 10:24 AM
Access 2010 Fe Sharepoint/office365 Be, This Recordset Is Not Updatable? Garindan General 1 08-31-2011 02:54 AM
Get Windows Version from MS Access 2007 jaydwest Modules & VBA 13 02-18-2010 08:33 AM
Which version of Windows John.Woody General 4 08-19-2002 08:30 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World