Access database master inventory from multiple product tables (1 Viewer)

roluko

Local time
Today, 14:43
Hi,
I have just recently joined a new company, and one of my tasks is to see if it is possible to convert 5-6 separate excel inventory files into one access database.

I have little prior experience with database design, and have started by googling, trying to find examples I can adopt.

We currently have one 'master parts' excel file, listing all inventory items. Parts used in production plus all other items in the company, like furniture, coffee machines, PC's, switches, spare parts etc. The 'master parts' excel file currently have 5000+ rows, and keeps growing as we identify and register new items into that file.

We use a barcode scanner to manage inventory in the 'master parts' excel sheet (parts in/out, parts counting etc.) These tasks is performed by several excel VBA macros, triggered by the barcode scanner. All VBA scripts is stored in a macro enabled excel sheet, triggered to run by the barcode scanner.

Currently, each part type have their own excel inventory file, with their own part naming convention. For example, the 'Equipment' excel file have a list of all equipments, with unique names like 'EQU.XXXX' where XXXX is incremented by one for every new equipment registered. Then the same for instruments (INST.XXXX), lifting equipment (LFT.XXXX) etc.

At the moment, we have about 6 or 7 of these individual inventory excel files.

As for the 'Master Parts' excel file, we have ordinary parts used in the workshop and production together with MRO products (Maintenance, Repair and Office supplies). For the 'ordinary' parts, we use the supplier's partnumber, if possible.

Then we manually add all the parts from the individual inventory excel files into that same master parts file, so that we can easily use the barcode scanner to scan parts in/out.