Access Merge Duplicate records while keeping some of the old information (1 Viewer)

CatYost

Local time
Yesterday, 22:52
Hi,

I am pretty new to access but I have created and run queries and reports. Every week we are updating information in our database and it takes forever, is there a way to automate this process?

What I have:
(This info stays the same) [This info is updated]
ID ( Performer Name Phone Email Dress Size Shoe Size ) [Chest Waist Hip Outseam Arm Length]

We use a sperate program to take measurements so that information is imported from Excel (from a scanner program), then appends the table with the information with parenthesis. So esentially i would like to overwrite the data from some fields while not touching others.

Right now I am having to manually select and copy the bracket info and paste it into the original (smaller pkey) a few rows at a time, then delete the newer one (bigger pkey) I do this in batches of about 20-30 people and it takes forever. I would also eventually like to train someone else to do this particular task and it would be much simpler to show them a few button presses and not a complex process.

I have tried looking at some tutorials but none of them really touch what I am actually attempting.

If it is impossible to do with this current set up but you have a different set up method (Merging tables maybe) that would work I am happy to do that.

Thank, Cat

MajP

You've got your good things, and you've got mine.
Local time
Yesterday, 23:52
This can be fully automated. Can you provide a sample input and desired output or even a small db with some data? That would speed up getting you a full solution.
But looking at your example it should be a simple insert query if the ID of the new data matches the ID of the old data. If not, is Performer Name unique in the DB?

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 23:52