activeX component can't create object (1 Viewer)

Capitala

Member
Local time
Today, 22:47
Joined
Oct 21, 2021
Messages
58
Good day!
I'm writing the following code in Word 2013 VB to connect to MDB database
dim db as database
dim rst as recordset

set db="db path"
set rst= db.openrecordset("Table Name")
In this stage I'm getting the error message :run-time error '4029' activex component can't create object"
I checked libraries, they're OK.
I tried to use (DAO.database) but still the same problem.

Kindly help
 

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 16:47
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
23,191
Qualify the database and recordset in the DIM statements

Dim DB As DAO.Database
Dim RST As DAO.Recordset
 

Capitala

Member
Local time
Today, 22:47
Joined
Oct 21, 2021
Messages
58
Qualify the database and recordset in the DIM statements

Dim DB As DAO.Database
Dim RST As DAO.Recordset
Kindly note that I'm using Word 2016 not 2013.

I've already tried this solution, but still the same issue. Thanks
 
Last edited:

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 16:47
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
23,191
Oh, darn, had a senior moment.

You can do a SET DB = "db path" but it is meaningless. That syntax APPEARS to be setting a string value to DB.

You have to do something resembling SET DB = OpenDatabase()... see the details in the link.


After the DB is open, then your recordset should be viable.
 

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Tomorrow, 05:47
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
16,867
use Adodb.Recordset, this is a universal recordset.
add Reference to Microsoft ActiveX Data Objects 2.8 Library, then on your code:

Code:
Dim rs As ADODB.Recordset
Dim cn As ADODB.Connection
Set cn = CreateObject("adodb.connection")
cn.Open "Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;Data Source=" & "thePath + db.mdb here" & ";Persist Security Info=False;"
Set rs = CreateObject("adodb.recordset")
With rs
    .CursorLocation = adUseClient
    .CursorType = adOpenDynamic
End With
rs.Open "select * from [theTableHere];", cn
With rs
    If Not (.BOF And .EOF) Then
        .MoveFirst
    End If
    Do Until .EOF
        Debug.Print rs(0), rs(1)
        .MoveNext
    Loop
    .Close
End With
cn.Close
Set rs = Nothing
Set cn = Nothing
 

Capitala

Member
Local time
Today, 22:47
Joined
Oct 21, 2021
Messages
58
use Adodb.Recordset, this is a universal recordset.
add Reference to Microsoft ActiveX Data Objects 2.8 Library, then on your code:

Code:
Dim rs As ADODB.Recordset
Dim cn As ADODB.Connection
Set cn = CreateObject("adodb.connection")
cn.Open "Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;Data Source=" & "thePath + db.mdb here" & ";Persist Security Info=False;"
Set rs = CreateObject("adodb.recordset")
With rs
    .CursorLocation = adUseClient
    .CursorType = adOpenDynamic
End With
rs.Open "select * from [theTableHere];", cn
With rs
    If Not (.BOF And .EOF) Then
        .MoveFirst
    End If
    Do Until .EOF
        Debug.Print rs(0), rs(1)
        .MoveNext
    Loop
    .Close
End With
cn.Close
Set rs = Nothing
Set cn = Nothing
thanks for your fruitful reply; How about the index and search
Previously I was using the code:
rst.index = "index name"
rst.seek "=", "anything"
if not rst.nomatch then
How such code will be.
Sorry for any inconvenience
 

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Tomorrow, 05:47
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
16,867
Code:
' arnelgp
'
' note:
'
' database:     Documents\test.mdb
' table;        tblCars
' Index:        RegNo
'
' Substitute Your database, table and Index on the code below
'
Dim rs As ADODB.Recordset

Set rs = CreateObject("adodb.recordset")
With rs
    '.Open "select * from [tblCars];", cn
.Open "tblCars", _
                "Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;" & _
                "Data Source=" & Environ$("userprofile") & "\documents\test.mdb" & ";", _
                adOpenKeyset, adLockOptimistic, adCmdTableDirect
    
    If .Supports(adIndex) And .Supports(adSeek) Then
        .Index = "RegNo"
        .Seek "TMV-167", adSeekFirstEQ
        If Not .EOF Then
            Debug.Print rs(0), rs(1), rs(2)
        End If
    End If
    .Close
End With
Set rs = Nothing
 

Capitala

Member
Local time
Today, 22:47
Joined
Oct 21, 2021
Messages
58
Code:
' arnelgp
'
' note:
'
' database:     Documents\test.mdb
' table;        tblCars
' Index:        RegNo
'
' Substitute Your database, table and Index on the code below
'
Dim rs As ADODB.Recordset

Set rs = CreateObject("adodb.recordset")
With rs
    '.Open "select * from [tblCars];", cn
.Open "tblCars", _
                "Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;" & _
                "Data Source=" & Environ$("userprofile") & "\documents\test.mdb" & ";", _
                adOpenKeyset, adLockOptimistic, adCmdTableDirect
   
    If .Supports(adIndex) And .Supports(adSeek) Then
        .Index = "RegNo"
        .Seek "TMV-167", adSeekFirstEQ
        If Not .EOF Then
            Debug.Print rs(0), rs(1), rs(2)
        End If
    End If
    .Close
End With
Set rs = Nothing
Thanks a mile my dear. I'll work on.
 

Capitala

Member
Local time
Today, 22:47
Joined
Oct 21, 2021
Messages
58
Dear Great arnelgp,
It's working perfect. How about editing the database. How to edit the current record in the MDB file.
Thaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaanks in advance
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom