Air Force database junkie (1 Viewer)

GrnMtn7

Local time
Today, 15:02
I have been trying to get the units I work for to adapt Access for tracking just about everything. I have been working on databases for about 5 years but have ZERO vba language skills, but hope to rectify that soon

- I have some useful tips for dealing with times as my job first requires me to convert local times to zulu and then compare schedule times to acutal times and calculate deviations between the two. Crossing midnight plus the zulu conversion was a real PITA but I have it licked if anyone wants a novice solution (sure there is less complex VBA code) but hey it works! :)

Last edited:

pbaldy

Wino Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 23:02
Welcome to the party! My daughter and son-in-law are in the AF, currently stationed in England.

GrnMtn7

Local time
Good assignment! I am currently in the ROK and looking forward to 3-4 years in Italy.

pbaldy

Wino Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Ooh, I wish they'd get transferred to Italy. That would be even better than England. Don't think it will happen though. Son-in-law is an F-15E pilot, so they end up at bases with those squadrons, and I can't remember her mentioning any bases in Italy. My wife's brother was stationed in Italy years ago, and said it was the best of everywhere he went. I'm jealous of you!

Sweetnuff38

Registered User.
Local time
I am trying to figure out how to handle working with ZULU Time in a database:

Time Zone and difference to Universal Time
Dealing with 2 time zones
Dealing with daylight savings time

Any input would be appreciated.

GrnMtn7

Local time
I am trying to figure out how to handle working with ZULU Time in a database:

Time Zone and difference to Universal Time
Dealing with 2 time zones
Dealing with daylight savings time

Any input would be appreciated.