Alike query with blank fields (1 Viewer)

tahoe1322

Local time
Today, 01:20
Hello,

I am very new to access and am self taught so thank you for your patients. ;)

I have developed a search box in a preexisting database. I am using an "alike" query to make the searching easier. The issue is that some of the fields are not required (so they are often left blank) but I still want them to be searchable. When I put the alike query for these non required fields, only data that has values is returned, even if the search box for that field is blank.

I am using:
ALike "%" & [Forms]![frmSearch]![frmSearch1].[Form]![txtLastName] & "%"

For example, the first name is not required but the last name is. There are several records where the first name is left blank. So if I put the alike statement in the first and last name Criteria section in the query, and I search for the last name "Johnson" only record 2 will be a result. If I put the alike statement only for the last name, both record 1 and 2 will be the result. But the problem is I cannot search by first name.

Example table:

Record First Name Last Name
1 Johnson
2 Robert Johnson

Any help would be appreciated.

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 23:20
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

Try using something like this:
Rich (BB code):
 ALike "%" & [Forms]![frmSearch]![frmSearch1].[Form]![txtLastName] & "%" OR Is Null
Hope that helps...

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 14:20
maybe you have used AND (criteria on same line) on your query instead of OR (criteria on after the other).

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Slight modification to what theDBguy suggested because you said the FIRST name was optional but the last name was not.

Code:
SELECT some fields FROM some table
WHERE ALIKE "%" & Forms("frmSearch")!frmSearch1.Form!txtLastName & "%" AND
     ( ALIKE "%" & Forms("frmSearch")!frmSearch1.Form!txtFirstName & "%" )