Applying one 'global filter' on a form that remains while I apply other filters (1 Viewer)

eschrob

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 01:21
My database is a large dataset that contains RFQ data for my part numbers from multiple customers for multiple years. I have a form (with subforms) that displays one record at a time and subtotals calculations in the header (like total value of the RFQ).

I would like to apply a drop down combo box to select the customer and date of the RFQ (usually just a year like 2019). Once those filters are set (they can reside in the header), I'd like to be able to filter and sort on the rest of the form to display specific records or a subset of records (like all part #'s beginning with 'ABC').

Everytime I try this, once I apply the second filter, the 1st filter is erased. I'm not a VBA expert but have been able to apply what I've learned on this and other sites to get my database working pretty well. This improvement would be a BIG help!

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Yesterday, 22:21
If you are using VBA to set form filter, yes, this replaces any criteria set in the form's Filter property.

You have to include all criteria in VBA constructed filter. Your code should already accommodate this. Review http://allenbrowne.com/ser-62.html

Access ribbon and right click filter tools do allow progressive filter.

Last edited:

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 14:21
either you change to Recordsource of the form or
use Master/Child link fields on the subforms.

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 23:21
Hi. I also vote for changing the Record Source. That makes the filter more permanent.

eschrob

Registered User.
Local time
Thanks Gents.
I've looked at the Allen Brown example but I can't determine if it really addresses my need. It's using multiple boxes to filter.
What I'm trying to so is set an "Account Name" filter so the form shows all records for Account "A".