Auto fill student details into other tables without retyping (1 Viewer)

Local time
Today, 05:50
(I am relatively new to ms access so this problem might have been solved for a different user, if so please direct me that post.) I am creating a database for my local school to :
1. Keep data of Students, their parents and etc.
2. Track school fees payments,
3. Track books distributions
4. payroll for the staff
etc

I wonder if there is a way to just type the name and class (basic details) of the students in only the details table and it will auto generate the same data in the school fees and other tables without having to retype the same data in the school fees table by creating a form to fill the student details

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 12:50
shouldn't be doing that anyway, database rules are (with a few exceptions not relevant here) to store data only once. Use a combo, listbox or subform to display the student data.

edit: sounds like you have not got to grips with database normalisation yet. It is not a difficult concept to understand. Google 'database normalisation' to find out more

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 20:50
you do not need to auto generate those info.
try also googling, Primary key and Foreign Key (on the joining tables).
in this way you can just Join your tables in a Query.

GPGeorge

Grover Park George
Local time
Today, 05:50
(I am relatively new to ms access so this problem might have been solved for a different user, if so please direct me that post.) I am creating a database for my local school to :
1. Keep data of Students, their parents and etc.
2. Track school fees payments,
3. Track books distributions
4. payroll for the staff
etc