Solved Backend Data (1 Viewer)

MattBaldry

Self Taught, Learn from the Forums
Local time
Today, 19:11
Hi all,

Would there be any pros/cons to splitting my backend data into data types? At the moment I have a single backend containing all my tables. I was wondering if there would be any benefit in breaking this down into categories, IE Quote Data, Customer Data, Supplier Data, Employee Data and so on.

I have over 50 tables in the current Data file. The Quote Data accounts for 9 tables. Customer Data has 8.

~Matt

MajP

You've got your good things, and you've got mine.
Local time
Today, 14:11
I do not think you will have a way to enforce referential integrity. That could be extremely bad IMO. If it is too big move it to SQL Server or something else.

jdraw

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Matt,
Your questions requires some context. You don't just have 50 tables. Your tables represent something. eg Customer, Product, Task.... Someone created or identified 50 tables. The tables have names. The tables contain fields/columns. When you have multiple tables there is often some relationship between/among tables. eg Customers may have 1 or more Orders. An Order may have 0,1 or more detail lines. An Order Detail line may represent a Product or Service...

All of this to say your 50 tables and their relationships will typically represent some processes within your business.
Can you tell us what business this database is intended to support? Can you provide some description of the business facts to help us understand the relationships?

GPGeorge

George Hepworth
Local time
Today, 11:11
I do not think you will have a way to enforce referential integrity. That could be extremely bad IMO. If it is too big move it to SQL Server or something else.
Correct. Referential Integrity can only be enforced on tables within a single database, whether that is an ACE database, SQL Server, MySQL, etc.