Can not update table (1 Viewer)

Prakashpdl

Local time
Today, 13:16
I have a main form and 5 subforms all based on single table. When I enter a new record in the main form, it says locked by another user. I am the only user. I can not add a new record to the table using main form or subform. I am new to access.please help.

My form is for data collection and I need to update as well as add new data from time to time. Therefore, I have a main form where there is client information and subforms with the different details of the same client. Subforms are linked with the main form (parent child). I have a serch form as well, so I have main form based on query. Main form and all subforms are looking up the same single table. I have several codes behind subforms as well.
I can change the existing data, but can not add new data. Error msg is "could not update, currently locked by another session on this machine". I am attaching the database, can you please help.

Attachments

• pp database -F4 - Copy.zip
    2.5 MB · Views: 144
Last edited:

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Today, 02:31
I have a main form and 5 subforms all based on single table.

Why? My gut is telling me you haven't set up your table correctly.

Can you either post your database or take a screenshot of all the fields in that table and post it?

Uncle Gizmo

Nifty Access Guy
Staff member
Local time
Today, 07:31
Are you linking to a spreadsheet?

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
By any chance, is any of the subforms linked to the main based on parent/child tables that have a 1-to-1 relationship?

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 00:31
How exactly do you enter a new record on the main form? Is there any code behind the form? If so, can we please see it? Thank you.

missinglinq

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 03:31
...is any of the subforms linked to the main based on parent/child tables that have a 1-to-1 relationship...