Solved Combo Box Issue Selecting Item versus Typing Item (1 Viewer)

spaLOGICng

Local time
Yesterday, 22:56
Hey Folks,

I am a seasoned Access Developer, and I ran into a situation that I have never encountered before.

I have an Access App that is connected to a relatively small SQL Server Database hosted by [blank] in the cloud.

I have a View that is linked to the DB with the respective Columns for the Combo Box. The Form is fairly complex and uses the Navigation Control to display several screens as subforms. The Combo Box is on the Parent Form.

The Combo Box works great when I scroll down the list of Items and make a selection with my Down Arrow + Enter or with my Mouse. The Navigation Control and Target Subforms work fantastic.

The issue occurs if I decide to type the Value to auto-populate the value I need to search for. When I go this route the Screen freezes (not responding).

I have tested it with local data populating the Combo Box and the behavior is the same.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Just a quick test, can you create a new combo and test that?

Josef P.

Local time
Today, 07:56
I have tested it with local data populating the Combo Box and the behavior is the same.
This excludes the cause cloud server. (For cloud server I would have recommended a disconnected ADODB record set for testing).
Since the problem also occurs with a local table, can you show an example db?

But there is no code running as a reaction from Combobox.Change or similar?

GPGeorge

Grover Park George
Local time
This excludes the cause cloud server. (For cloud server I would have recommended a disconnected ADODB record set for testing).