Conditional Data Entry Into Tables (1 Viewer)

hassanlabban

Registered User.
Local time
Tomorrow, 01:11
Dear All
I am new to Access in a way, and developed a small tool as a warehouse management system. the system is working great but I need to add a rule or condition to this tool.
here is the situation:
I have Tables having warehouses locations (LOCATION1,LOCATION2, LOCATION3, etc...)
some items (products) will be entered into a transaction table where with queries and reports, can see each item in which location it is or in a particular location what are the products stored in.

however, if there is no limitation or condition in a way or another into the access application to limit users from entering an item OUT in the transaction from a location which doesn't have this product, I need access to tell me a message or stop me from entering that transaction.

to explain more, if I have ProductA in LOCATION1, and one of the data entry guys entered a transaction in LOCATION2 for the same ProductA, access will not allow him since there is no quantity of that particular product in that LOCATION2.

Any ideas how to do it? I checked in Data Validation and Validation rules, but its either hard for me to understand or am not getting how to do it?

I truly appreciate any help from you guys and thanks again for your help in advance.

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Today, 16:11
Gizmo thinks you have an improper structure, I'm on the fence. In your table do you have multiple fields for locations (Location1, Location2, etc.) or do you have one field which allows multiple location values (Location)? Are you listing locations vertically (with more rows) or horizontally (with more columns)?