Confused by data types and precision (1 Viewer)

GK in the UK

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 08:46
A long time ago as a total novice I made my price fields as Currency which gives me prices to 4 decimal places of one UK pound.

How can I increase the decimal places stored ? I need up to 5 for prices, and possibly more for another function, with total precision.

Looking at the table design, I see I can define a Long Integer and specify the number of places. But isn't a long integer 4 bytes ? Don't think that will do it.

Can I change Currency to some other 8-byte type but with different decimals ?

I have a solution in my head which is probably me over-thinking it as usual. Multiply the user-keyed value by 10 (or more) and save it to the table. I suspect someone has a better solution.

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 15:46
can you not define the Number of decimal places while
in design view of your table.

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 02:46
If you use DOUBLE, you get approximately 15 reliable digits of mantissa. That means you could have 9 digits to the left of the decimal and six to the right, giving you numbers up to just less than 1 BILLION (USA definition of billion). Do you have a billion-pound total business flow?

Does British currency have precision to 5 decimal places or is that because of fraction-of-a-penny considerations for bulk purchase discounts?

isladogs

MVP / VIP
Local time
Or use SINGLE which typically gives 6 or 7 d.p .... IIRC

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 02:46
Colin, SINGLE probably won't work so well in the case as described. That isn't 6 or 7 decimal places - it is 6 or 7 digits of mantissa, which isn't "decimal places."

I have actually run across a data type of QUAD integer, but (a) it only appears on 64-it machines and (b) as I recall, isn't THAT tractable.

GK in the UK

Registered User.
Local time