Copy information from one form to multiple tables. (1 Viewer)

AndyJ234

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 17:55
Hello all,

I'm pretty new to access and am trying to form a database for my work. I was wondering if I can create one form that contains names, address, phone #'s, e-mail etc. and then has check box offices if they apply to a certain table (ex: A Members table or mailing list table) So that once I fill in all the general info, I could then click on a members checkbox and it would copy the general(name, address, etc) info into the members table as well as a general table.

Thanks for any answers.

Maybe i'm going about designing this all wrong but I wondered if I could do it like this.

HiTechCoach

Local time
Hello all,

I'm pretty new to access and am trying to form a database for my work. I was wondering if I can create one form that contains names, address, phone #'s, e-mail etc. and then has check box offices if they apply to a certain table (ex: A Members table or mailing list table) So that once I fill in all the general info, I could then click on a members checkbox and it would copy the general(name, address, etc) info into the members table as well as a general table.

Thanks for any answers.

Maybe i'm going about designing this all wrong but I wondered if I could do it like this.

You should only store information in one place. You would generally avoid doing this:

... copy the general(name, address, etc) info into the members table as well as a general table.

You mailing list table should link back to the Members table with a junction table.

A really great example is this:
Contacts -- Names, Addresses, Phones, eMail, Websites, Notes

AndyJ234

Registered User.
Local time

HiTechCoach

Local time
Well if I wasn't going to avoid doing this is there a way?

Thanks for the help.

I am sure there is a way if you really want to do it.

You could use an Append query.
or
You could use a recordset.