Creating a new database with forms and subforms and I need some guidance (1 Viewer)

estin

Local time
Today, 08:29
Hi, I'm fairly new to Access and have only been learning vba the past couple of months. I understand the concepts of many uses of access and have so many ideas of what I’d like to do but, don’t always know where to start.

I've taken on a project where the linked table that are used I've pulled into a query on the fields that are needed and created a form with a subform.

I created the following buttons:
  • One "Search for" text box that searches up to 5 fields in the query to show the results in a text box and the subform.
    • When I tab or hit enter the search begins.. ? Is there a way for this to happen with a Execute Search button instead? I tried to write the same code as the after update and implement it into a click but, there was an error.
    • ? I’d like to be able to show in this box if there are no results a message box unless anyone has any other suggestions.
  • "Search Results" text box with 8 columns.
    • ? Can I select items from this box and move them into another form one or several at a time?
    • ? Is there a way for the after update code to run quicker? The timeframe is sometimes up to a minute for it to load. Average is 30 seconds.
  • "Records Found" Text box
  • "Records Selected" In progress pending the search results selections if possible.
  • Clear Form Button
    • ? This button only clears the Search For box and not the Search Results Text box or the Subform. I’d like it to clear the whole form. How do I do that?
  • "Linked Search for" button that displays the same information as the Search for. I did this because sometimes after the Search for runs it doesn't show the display information.
  • Subform that shows 9 columns.