Creating Form from multiple tables (1 Viewer)

MattShaw

Local time
Today, 03:14
Hi All,

I have tried to create a form linked to multiple tables. Some of the form works but other parts do not allow data entry. Also when I try to add certain fields from other tables, this makes the form go blank?

I am a total novice with Access so any help would be appreciated. I think this may be to do with the relationships in my tables?

Thanks in advance

missinglinq

AWF VIP
Local time
Yesterday, 22:14
Allen Browne's article, that ridders provided a link to, explains why basing Forms on multi-table Queries frequently fails. One of the cardinal rules of relational databases, such as Access, is 'one Form/one Table.'

To allow data entry into multiple Tables, from a single Form, usually requires using a Main Form and one or more Subforms based on the related Tables.

Linq ;0)>

Last edited:

MattShaw

Local time
Thanks for the help, might take me some time to understand what that stuff means!

isladogs

MVP / VIP
Local time
Thanks for the help, might take me some time to understand what that stuff means!

In short, (though its one of several causes), the more tables you use as your record source for a form or query, the more chance there is of it being read only.

Now I don't hold to missinglinq's view that forms should only be based on 1 table.
I do however, always CHECK that the form/query is still editable after adding another table or query to the recordsource.
Having said that, if you do follow linq's advice, you KNOW the form/query will be editable

Last edited:

missinglinq

AWF VIP
Local time
...Also when I try to add certain fields from other tables, this makes the form go blank...

FYI...when a Form based on a Query is Read-Only, for the reasons Allen Browne discusses in his article, the Form will 'go blank,' meaning that not even the Controls, themselves will show, if there are no Records in the underlying Record Source.

Linq ;0)>

MattShaw

Local time
Hi,