CSV or XLSX Bank Statement to Access module (need to import via VBA and then write back to Excel with imported flag) (2 Viewers)

writeprivate

Local time
Today, 06:58
Hi - I am new here. I am a reasonably experienced Access developer and am close to the MVP stage of developing an investment tracking application with double-entry bookkeeping. The last module/functionality for this version will be handling bank statements. I have not worked with Excel to Access to Excel before so would really appreciate some guidance.

The desired workflow is as follows:

1. The user has multiple bank accounts with different banks - each having a different bank statement layout
2. The user will create an Excel spreadsheet for each bank type. Then periodically, the user will download the CSV/XLSX from the bank and either OPTION A) manually append records to the single spreadsheet or OPTION B) simply save the new spreadsheet with latest records using a standard file naming format and within a standard folder. ** I am working with the OPTION A at the moment - see why below **
3. Using a button to run code (having selected bank type, folder location etc.), the desired VBA code will append all Excel records ("imported" field marked as false) - to the MS Access table "tblBankStatements". During import, the MS Access table boolean field "Imported" will be set to TRUE. At the same time, the Excel Imported field will also be set to true (or -1) for those corresponding records.

I have tried working with the in-built functions of Access for importting, appending, linking to Excel but frankly these approaches are not robust and reproducable and i think that code is the better way to go so that i can keep things neater and scalable.

ChatGPT has given me this skeleton of code. Your thoughts on this would be appreciated - is this the right road?

Option Compare Database
Option Explicit

Sub ImportExcelFile()
Dim db As DAO.Database
Dim rst As DAO.Recordset
Dim xlApp As Object