Database Design (1 Viewer)

BlackCat68

Local time
Today, 22:03
Hi this is my first post so please be kind. I am self taught in Access and pretty much a novice/amateur and have good basic knowledge of VBA and building queries, tables and forms etc.

However I usually just go ploughing straight in and build on the fly without too much thought of the overall design or end result. I usually have a basic idea but I want to start to think differently about how I go about planning the structure before I start to build anything.

I have been tasked to build an Order Tracking system in MS Access for one of our customers that the small company I work for has just started to support their IT requirements.

I have not spoken to the customer myself yet, by boss has just passed me a pdf file that the customer users to capture information about an order and asked me if I could build an order tracking system for them.

I have no other information as of yet but I just want to start thinking about how I would go about designing and structuring the tables etc. Obviously I will need to ask them lots of questions and also see there data at some point.

Attached is a screenshot of the pdf file to provide an idea of what they currently use.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Attachments

• Order Sample.JPG
    Order Sample.JPG
    85 KB · Views: 417

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
You certainly need to start with the structure and tables, however, when talking to end-users about a business process it's often best to start at the end.

What do they need out of the system: reports, employee task lists, invoices, follow-ups, quotes etc. etc.
Once you know what the required outputs are, you combine that with their current paper process to determine what you actually need to record and the table structure follows.

And allow for them forgetting stuff they do "automatically" without thinking about it.
"Oh yeah, we always attach a picture and spec drawing with each quote"...