E-room alternative (1 Viewer)

nikkypickles

Total Novice
Local time
Today, 23:49
I'm fishing for ideas. At the moment, one of our teams is operating what is essentially an Excel database. And it's yucky! It's laid out terribly, the form is horrible and the reports are useless.

Any suggestions that I turn it into a functioning Access database have been vetoed on the basis that people who are on a different network to us need access to the information in the database. This they can get through the Excel route by using an E-room.

Can something similar not be done with Access? I'm dying to get shot of the dreadful working practises that are in place at the moment.

dsigner

Registered User.
Local time
I know nothing about an E room but you could try just linking from Access to the Excell. This would leave the existing system totally in place. You could treat the data as Accessdata and formulate nice reports etc.
Once people start to see what results you get then maybe they will want you use Access themselves.
Thsi will only work if there are reasonable well defined data ranges in the spreadsheet.

KeithG

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 15:49
You should be able to normalize your tables and still export your info to excell from a query

gemma-the-husky

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Are you on a local LAN or on a WIDE AREA LAN - If you are trying to run Access at remote locations, you are almost bound to get performance problems, and walk into a "I told you so" situation.

Although your database can be accessed within your company, you might find not every user has Access, as its not part of standard office. Although you can provide a runtime version of access, you may need an improved access version to do this, and the runtime version contains no error handling, so you HAVE to write a perfectly resilient application. Again, this might be an "I told you so" situation.