Equipment inventory database design (1 Viewer)

David8

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 01:33
Question about equipment inventory database design

Hello,

I am a relative beginner with MS Access. We are trying to create a database of all IT equipment in our large-medium size organisation. I have read about database design a bit and played around with the program, but I am facing a number of challenges:

There are different types of equipment eg computers; monitors; printers; projectors etc. These all share some crucial fields such as manufacturer, serial number, color, model number etc. But they also have unique fields: what is the diagonal size of a monitor? Is a projector lcd or dlp? Is a printer capable of double-sided output? How much RAM does a computer have? That is why I have kept separate tables for each type of equipment, with relationships to lookup tables such as "Manufacturer" and "Location". I hope this is the right approach.

But lookup tables and relationships do not solve all my problems. I NEED the database to 'understand' that there are not printer serial numbers and monitor serial numbers, there are just serial numbers and it is a common field throughout the database. BUT when a user enters a new serial number in the Printers table, I do not want them to have to enter it in a Serial Numbers table first, then enter the serial number again in the Printers table. I only want them to enter s/n once.

We have our own Inventory Number system. They are unique and hand written discretely on every item. Just like serial numbers, the database must recognise these as a 'common thread' that runs through the whole database. There should logically only be one "Inventory Number" field, but it must be represented on every table.

Should the Inventory Number be a DBID replacing the auto-generated one?