Export 2 queries to 1 csv (columns not the same) (1 Viewer)

anski

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 16:51
I need to export 2 queries to 1 csv file. The 2 queries do not have the same number of columns. I cannot use Union because this requires I have the same column numbers. I cannot make alias columns or null columns because the resulting exported file will have commas to signify a blank field. The result should be like this:

Hdr John 2 02/14/1989 Manager NY (from query 1)
Dtl Eric 06/04/1989 John (from query 2)
Dtl Lisa 11/15/1995 John (from query 2)

MarkK

bit cruncher
Local time
Today, 01:51
Create a Scripting.FileSystemObject and execute its CreateTextFile method, which returns a Scripting.TextStream object. Then use the WriteLine method of the TextStream object to write individual lines to the file.
hth
Mark

anski

Registered User.
Local time
thanks. i am new to filesystem. i assume that the "writing" of lines involves additional codes to end up with a csv file. it is not like you copy text from one file and paste to another file? i use the transfertext to export to a delimited csv file. there is no coding or formatting for me to do on the source file. (i hope you understand my concern.)

can you post a sample code that i can base mine on?

isladogs

MVP / VIP
Local time
Today, 09:51
You can also create a union query from your two queries
To do so you add one or more dummy fields to each query as necessary to ensure you have the same number of fields with the same datatypes.
For example, add an empty number field as the third field in query 2 and set the value to 0
You also need to manage the final two fields from query 1 and the last field from query 2.

Note that the field names in the first part of the union are used whilst those in the second part are ignored.

It's easy enough to do but whether it's better than using file system object for the task is another matter.

anski

Registered User.
Local time