Filter Listbox by Checkboxes (1 Viewer)

Kovacs

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 02:41
Hi everybody
I've been looking for a long time on internet (and this forum) in order to solve this problem. I am new at coding and it's very difficult to get a result with only partial informations. Hopefully this will help a lot of people having the same issue.

I wish to filter the records in a listbox by using checkboxes.
The listbox (list1) and the checkboxes are in the same form (form1)
The listbox displays the records from a query (query1) related to a single table (table1).
Each record (assuming a list of videos) has a field called "Typology". The "video typologies" are: Movie, Documentary, Animation. So the table1 has a column called "Typology" which displays one of the three typology in simple text.
When entering a new record (in a specific form) user can choose the typology selecting an option in a combobox. The combobox is a "value list" one and I wrote the typologies in the "row origin" line: "Movie";"Documentary";"Animation"
So we have a single column in simple text for all the typologies, but limited choiches.
So far everything is working well.

Now I wish to filter the records in the listbox by typology. Each typology should be related to a checkbox, so when I check a checkbox then the listbox returns only the records form a specific typology. Also, I wish to check more then one checkbox in order to display records from multiple typologies rather than one.

I've already made a button which resets the form, displaying once again all the records and eventually unchecking all the checkboxes.

About option buttons:
I've managed filtering the listbox results using option buttons in a frame (option group?) and it works fine, but in this way I can choose only one typology at a time (and the typology field in the tabel1 of course is not simple text, but numeric: 1=Movie, 2=Documentary etc).

I thought this could be solved using the click event on each checkbox: