Filter Subform from the Main form (1 Viewer)

Poco_90

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 20:00
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
87
Hi,
I know this should be easy, but I am going wrong somewhere. I have a form frmStockTake and a subform sfrmStockTake. I have several combo boxes on the main form that the user selects to filter the subform via a query. This is working as I want.

My problem is I would like to ad preferably a toggle button to the main form. to show/hide stock with a qty = 0.

1. I tried a and additional combo box on the main form, but it returned any stock with a 0 in the quantity. (Row source = "0"). Not sure how to return just 0. I'd be happy with using this at this stage.

2. Any attempt on buttons on the main form either don't work or I get errors.

3. My subform is viewed as a datasheet from the main. If I change it to form view I have had some success showing qty = 0

Code:
    If me.filter = "[Qty] = 0" Then
                 me.filteron = True
              else
                 me.filteron =False
              End if
But this is no good with wanting ta datasheet view.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance,
Poco
 

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 20:00
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
16,666
from the main form you refer to the filter on the subform as

me.subformcontrolname.form.filter="[Qty]=0"
me.subformcontrolname.form.filteron=true
 

Poco_90

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 20:00
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
87
Hi CJ,
Thank you for responding. This is something I had previously tried.

On the main form frmStockTake I have a toggle button with the following

me.qty.form.filter ="[Qty]=0"
me.qty.form.filteron = true

I get a compile error (Method or Data member not found), I tried

me.qty.sfrmStockTake.filter

and get the same error. :banghead:

any other ideas?
 

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 20:00
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
16,666
is the name of your subform control called 'qty'?
 

Poco_90

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 20:00
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
87
It is unless I am mistaken. I have attached a screen shot.
Poco
 

Attachments

  • db.JPG
    db.JPG
    81.3 KB · Views: 109

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 20:00
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
16,666
put the form in design view, click on the subform and display the properties - then screenshot that
 

Poco_90

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 20:00
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
87
Thanks CJ. See picture 1
Poco
 

Attachments

  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    92.6 KB · Views: 75
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    94.6 KB · Views: 98

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 20:00
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
16,666
you need to click on the subform control (not the form within the control),- I want to confirm the name of the subform control. You are showing the properties for the main form.
 

Poco_90

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 20:00
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
87
CJ, is this what you are looking for?
 

Attachments

  • Capture.jpg
    Capture.jpg
    94.3 KB · Views: 98

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 20:00
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
16,666
yes

your code should be

me.sfrmStockTake.form.filter="[Qty]=0"
me.sfrmStockTake.form.filteron=true

you were trying

On the main form frmStockTake I have a toggle button with the following

me.qty.form.filter ="[Qty]=0"
me.qty.form.filteron = true

I get a compile error (Method or Data member not found), I tried

me.qty.sfrmStockTake.filter

and get the same error.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom