Finished product is also a raw material (1 Viewer)

Watergirl

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 16:32
I'm new to Access (2002) and have been trying to learn by reading books, posts, forums and practicing with models. I've set up a database for inventory, primarily to track the cost of goods sold as raw material costs change from month to month. So far I have tables for raw materials, container sizes, suppliers, and finished products. But I have a problem - in some cases a finished product is also a raw material, so cannot appear in both tables. (Let's say we make cookies and we make ice cream, and we also make ice cream with cookies on top as a third/separate finished product!) Should cookies have two records ('CookieFinished' and 'CookieRM') and can they be linked together so cost is determined before it's part of another? Is there a better way? Thanks in advance!

Moniker

VBA Pro
Local time
Today, 15:32
Put raw materials and finished products in the same table, and use a lookup table to identify what it is.

Code:
Table: Material_Type

MaterialTypeID   MaterialType
1                Raw Material
2                Finished Product

Table: Materials

MaterialID   MaterialTypeID   Material
1            1                Cookies
2            1                Ice Cream
3            2                Cookies 'N Cream

Watergirl

Registered User.
Local time
Using the same table

Thanks for your fast response! The vast majority of raw materials are purchased from other sources - very few of our finished products use one of our finished products as an 'ingredient'. I need to keep our products separate (in one table) and raw materials in another.