Form clearing Error (1 Viewer)

-ian-

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 10:47
I am new to Access2000 (5days) and have a problem with field clearing. I have looked through your postings throughout this time and have found them a great asset. I now have a problem I have not found a working solution for:

I have a form field which checks via the BeforeUpdate code to see if a number is within a certain range (and therefore valid or not)

When I find an invalid entry, I try to clear it by setting the field to Null.

When I execute the code, I get the error:
"The Macro or function set to the BeforeUpdate or ValidationRule property for this field is preventing Microsoft Access from saving data in this field"

I assume this means that the field is locked for the duration of the BeforeUpdate subroutine? How can I circumvent this?

(Using Me.Undo isn't complete enough as it doesn't guarentee field clearing)

What am I doing wrong?

David R

I know a few things...
Local time
Today, 04:47
You could set a validation rule on the field itself's BeforeUpdate to check right then that the value is correct. Cancel the update and send them back to the field to try again if the value is not correct.

If you need it to be form level (say not all fields are filled in yet that determine validity), then try posting your code here and maybe someone will spot what's wrong.

HTH,
David R

-ian-

Registered User.
Local time
Validation won't work in this case. So, Ok -Here's the code. I thought of streamlining it in the string section, but I thought the newline trick might be of use to others out there.

Private Sub Part1_BeforeUpdate(Cancel As Integer)
Dim Answer As Variant
Dim bit As Variant
Dim NewLine As String

NewLine = Chr(13) + Chr(10)

If Me.Part1 > 0 Then 'This is to prevent a Null coming through into routine when the [part1] field is empty

If DCount("[part1]", "ProductInfo", "[ProductID]=" & [Part1]) = 1 Then