Form with Spreadsheetlike Performance (1 Viewer)

AJR

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 22:24
Hi

Thanks for taking your time with my problem, even if you just read it and move on.

I'm pretty new to Databases and Access and am just finishing off my first real Database.

Sorry for using the S word. There are many reasons that this project should be done by a database, I'm finding one instance, however, where I know it would be easy to do on a spreadsheet, so that's how I chose the Title.

The database will allow the user to develop an Investment Asset Allocation Target and then compare their actual allocation to that target.

So, a user could define Bond Asset Categories (e.g., AAA, Corporate, Junk) and then define what % of all their bonds would be allocated to each category (e.g., AAA -70%, Corporate 20%, Junk 10%).

When doing this it is advantageous to be able to see all of the Categories and what each allocation is, at one time (One page of a form). A datasheet form actually works fine (and I have all the tables and queries built to do that) but it's a little ugly to a user with no Access experience.

Is there some way I can produce a form that operates like a Datasheet form but looks like a Tabular Form?

Another aspect, which I will post on it's own thread when I get the form issue nailed down, I will include here as it may be pertinent to the above question, is:

It is essential that the fields finish up summing to 100%, yet inevitable that they will not, during manipulation (I reduce one category by 10% and increase another by 10% --The categories finish up totaling 100% but total 90% for the time between my first change and my second.) I need a way to alert the user when the fields do not total 100%. On a spreadsheet I could simply provide a total, or I could use conditional formatting to show all values in red text if the Sum of all values <>100%

Any Ideas on how to accomplish both?