Format Background Colour - Word Table (1 Viewer)

databasedonr

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 02:11
Hi there,

I have a two-column table in word, where column one is a static label and column 2 can have 4 values - High, Low, Medium and Nil. What I'd like to do is format the background colour of the cell after the value is entered.

I'm fairly handy with VBA in Access, but am a complete newb at Word and am not familiar with the Word DOM at all. Is there a straightforward way to do this? I've found trying to use the "Drop Down List" in Word is also nightmare, as I thought I might be able to do something there. I tried embedding an excel spreadsheet, but conditional formatting only appears to allow three conditions (I need four), and my users have difficulty with anything other than Word, so I need to stay with a Word table. I'm sure it can be done, just sure I can't do it at this point. Any advise/guidance would be most welcome. I'm using Word 2003 as well....

Thanks in advance.

Don

databasedonr

Registered User.
Local time
Just to let you know, I 'mostly' figured this out. I'm not thrilled with my solution, so if there's some improvements I can make, I'd be happy to hear of them.

What I did was create a series of macros like this:

Sub High()
'warn users if they are not in the table
If Not Selection.Information(wdWithInTable) Then
MsgBox "Put the cursor in the situational scale table", vbOKOnly
Exit Sub
End If

With Selection.Cells
'set the colour on the cell to red for "High"
With .Shading
.ForegroundPatternColor = wdColorRed
.BackgroundPatternColor = wdColorRed
End With
End With
' move to the next line in the table
Selection.MoveDown Unit:=wdLine
End Sub

All the users have to do now is invoke the macros and choose which value they want from the list of values, and the colour is completed. This isn't terribly elegant, but it works.

I've found Word difficult to work with in VBA - could be lack of exposure though - so any tips really would be welcome.