Formatting column widths and captions/column headings on a datasheet view subform (1 Viewer)

jumnhy

Local time
Today, 05:37
Hello all,

Trying to figure out how to configure two parts of a subform that I'm displaying in datasheet view--making the column widths persistent, and customizing the column names as they appear on the datasheet.

The recordsource is a query that's an amalgam of various joins from several tables. The issue is that despite aliasing the column names in the final query, the names displayed on the columns in the datasheet view persist as the underlying column headings from the upstream queries and tables. I'm just beginning to backtrack which upstream recordsources are persisting from where, so I can change them there if needed and allow those changes to persist, but I'm hoping/assuming there's something I don't know, and I'd think it should be possible to coerce them to read as whatever I want.

How can I set the column names in the datasheet view? I know that configuration options for the datasheet view are limited, and while I've considered just converting to a continuous form, I like the look and familiar feel of the datasheet for our end users, and the inbuilt search/sort/filter features that it provides.

Similarly, if I manually set the widths of the columns, they seem to reset once viewed on the actual subform--ie, if I edit the subform itself separately in datasheet view, those changes don't persist when viewed live as part of the parent form. Read elsewhere something about "freezing" the column width, but when I do that the columns appear to rearrange (pulls the frozen column to the leftmost spot). Is there a better way to configure this?

I'm hoping to avoid needing to rework the subform as a continuous form view, so any input would be very helpful.

jumnhy

Local time