General Design Help (1 Viewer)

tmyers

Local time
Today, 10:02
Hopefully this is the correct forum to post this in.
I am new to Access, and have hit a kind of wall as far as design that I am struggling to overcome.

Let me preface this with a short summary of me:
New to Access (only been working with it for a little over a month).
Using Access 2016
Very little knowledge in coding, but have been learning VBA over the last few months and can understand basic stuff.

On to the main event!
I am designing a new system for quotes for my work using Access. I have designed all my tables and relationships, along with several forms for navigation and such. I have made the "first" form used in the process of making a quote (unceremoniously named "Create Quote") It pulls all the basic fields to "start" a quote, such as assigning a quote number, customers etc.

The problem I have run into is how to design the next form/step. After you fill out the first form and save it, it populates the "primary" table with that data. I then need to make a form that effectively goes "under" that ID. So the next form would tie in several other tables for data input (which I assume would be query based), but I cant figure out how all this would tie back to the databases "primary" table and link all the subsequent data under the Quote ID. I think it would involve parent/child records, but am unsure.

I am totally lost with how to go further since I can't figure out how to tie everything down the line back to that initial quote id/ quote number. Any design input/help would be greatly appreciated.

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 07:02
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

The usual approach to handle parent/child relationships is by using a form/subform configuration. You can even use a Tab Control to add as many subforms as you need.

tmyers

Local time
Thank you!

That make some sense.