Grabbing LonLat from GoogleMaps (Very very Hard) !!! (1 Viewer)

Pleasure

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 23:12
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
44
Well I'm sure this is for experts !!!!

I know that this is going to be very very very difficult.

Have a look at the example. This access form is linked to the page:

http://code.google.com/apis/maps/documentation/examples/event-arguments.html

as you see, clicking on this page gives us Lon,Lat and Zoom.

And the question is ....

Are we able to grab these data ????

The source code of this link (HTML code) is :

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xmlns:v="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:vml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8"/>
<title>Google Maps JavaScript API Example: Event Arguments</title>
<script src="http://maps.google.com/maps?file=api&v=2&key=ABQIAAAAzr2EBOXUKnm_jVnk0OJI7xSosDVG8KKPE1-m51RBrvYughuyMxQ-i1QfUnH94QxWIa6N4U6MouMmBA"
type="text/javascript"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">


function initialize() {
if (GBrowserIsCompatible()) {
var map = new GMap2(document.getElementById("map_canvas"));
map.setCenter(new GLatLng(37.4419, -122.1419), 13);

GEvent.addListener(map,"click", function(overlay,latlng) {
var myHtml = "The GLatLng value is: " + map.fromLatLngToDivPixel(latlng) + " at zoom level " + map.getZoom();
map.openInfoWindow(latlng, myHtml);
});
map.addControl(new GSmallMapControl());
map.addControl(new GMapTypeControl());
}
}

</script>
</head>
<body onload="initialize()" onunload="GUnload()">
<div id="map_canvas" style="width: 500px; height: 300px"></div>
</body>
</html>

Have a look at the attachment too ...

Thanks in advance.
 

Attachments

  • Gmapping.zip
    12 KB · Views: 143

jdraw

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 16:12
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
15,379
Any suggestions ??

What exactly are you trying to do?

Are you trying to create a Google map of an area with a known Lat long.
 

Pleasure

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 23:12
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
44
No not that. Actually I want to use the example (on link as also on mdb). As you can see, when you click on the map a msgbox appears with Longtitute - Latitude and Map Zoom. This msgbox belongs to the web page (google map) and not to VBA code.

What I want to to is to GRAB the data from the msgbox (that belongs to the Google Map). This is not easy at all but I'm pretty sure that some people here can do anything they want ... so

Let's wait ...
 

Pleasure

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 23:12
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
44
Well it is obvious that this is very hard to solve. But imagine what we can achieve after implementing that. To make databases of our family, customers etc with field data, location, Coordinates etc.

But the problem is to grab the data from these Google Maps msgboxes. Perhaps it can be done with some api calls or something.

Please have a look again.
 

jdraw

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 16:12
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
15,379
Well it is obvious that this is very hard to solve. But imagine what we can achieve after implementing that. To make databases of our family, customers etc with field data, location, Coordinates etc.

But the problem is to grab the data from these Google Maps msgboxes. Perhaps it can be done with some api calls or something.

Please have a look again.

I'm still not sure what exactly you want to do.

I had a need to provide a map of areas that were X miles in radius using a given lat long as center. With radius X miles from center (x,y)

I found a sample google map that did something similar. I also found somemap that had a circle approximation code. I took the source code for the page (saved it to a html file) and made it a variable within Access. I put some variable markers into the html file. Then played with it until I could interact from my Form to get City, convert to Lat Long, then supply parms to the html file, then open the Google map code in a new window.

Does this help?
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom