Help me with a JOIN Query with null values (1 Viewer)

sailorguy

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 06:38
Hi,

I am very new to Access still, and have a query to return values from multiple tables. In this case I want to return all users which have ANY of the following data in any of the following fields (DN, TN, Phantom, DID). This only works when the users has ALL the above fields. If any are null nothing shows up. Is there a way around this?

I am not too familiar with SQL code and pretty much rely on using the designer, but here is the code that it created if anyone can help!

Code:
SELECT tblDID.DID, tblDN.DN, tblPhoneLog.PhoneLogID, tblTN.TN, TblUsers.FirstName, TblUsers.LastName, tblPhantom.Phantom
FROM TblUsers INNER JOIN (tblTN INNER JOIN (tblPhantom INNER JOIN (tblDN INNER JOIN (tblDID INNER JOIN tblPhoneLog ON tblDID.DIDid = tblPhoneLog.DIDID) ON tblDN.DNid = tblPhoneLog.DNID) ON tblPhantom.Phantomid = tblPhoneLog.Phantomid) ON tblTN.TNid = tblPhoneLog.TNID) ON TblUsers.UserID = tblPhoneLog.UserID));

llkhoutx

Registered User.
Local time
An INNER JOIN requires values in both the left and right tables to return a result.

A LEFT JOIN is probably what you want. A LEFT JOIN returns all values in the left table and values in the right table that exist, all other rows return Null for the right tables.

Using an INNER JOIN on multiple tables can produce no results.

By analogy, a RIGHT JOIN return all values in the right tables anfd values in tghe left table that exist, all other rows return Null for the left tables.

I suggest that you locate a SQL hornbook. JOINs are elementary concepts.

sailorguy

Registered User.
Local time
O.k i did some reading but I'm not sure I can equate the examples to what I am doing. This is what I tried...but it doesn't work.

Code:
SELECT 
tblDID.DID, 
tblDN.DN, 
tblPhoneLog.PhoneLogID, 
tblTN.TN, 
TblUsers.FirstName, 
TblUsers.LastName, 
tblPhantom.Phantom