Solved Help with Calculation Field in Query (1 Viewer)

Nicole-B

Local time
Today, 03:53
Hi guys, I am a total beginner here, basically I am having to edit a database built by a co-worker years ago and I am stuggling with the SQL side of things.

One of my fields on my query needs to contain a calculation based on what is present in a couple of other fields and percentage amounts. If i write what i am trying to do could someone please help me figure out where i am going wrong?

EstimatedGrant£: IIf([AnticipatedGrant%]=100,[QuoteCost]-[TitleSearchFee]),IIf([AnticipatedGrant%]=80,([QuoteCost]/100*20)-[TitleSearchFee])

Basically I want the calculation to show the EstimatedGrant£ as either 80% or 100% of the Quote costs minus the TitleSearchFee depending on percentage entered in the AnticipatedGrant% Field)

I hope that all makes sense, I'm hoping its me being stupid and adding a bracket or comma in the wrong place lol

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 19:53
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

What is the data type of the AnticipatedGrant% column? Maybe you could try it this way too.

Code:
EstimatedGrant: [QuoteCost]*[AnticipatedGrant]-[TitleSearchFee]

Just a thought...

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
I'm not sure your calculation is correct but as you only have the two options then

EstimatedGrant£ = IIf([AnticipatedGrant%]=100,[QuoteCost]-[TitleSearchFee], [QuoteCost]/100*20)-[TitleSearchFee])

The syntax is IIf( EvaluatedCondition, TrueResult, FalseResult)

So if it's 100 then return [QuoteCost]-[TitleSearchFee] else return [QuoteCost]/100*20)-[TitleSearchFee])

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Yesterday, 21:53
Basically I want the calculation to show the EstimatedGrant£ as either 80% or 100% of the Quote costs minus the TitleSearchFee depending on percentage entered in the AnticipatedGrant% Field)
EstimatedGrant£: IIf([AnticipatedGrant%]=100,[QuoteCost]-[TitleSearchFee]),IIf([AnticipatedGrant%]=80,([QuoteCost]/100*20)-[TitleSearchFee])