Home School mom "graduated"...need help! (1 Viewer)

MarcieFess

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 13:35
Hi everyone. I've been on here a few weeks but I don't believe I've ever introduced myself.

I'm a 50-something mom with a varied professional background.

My degree is in Business Administration, which was actually a fall-back position after 2 previous degree plans and being in a private university for 5 years...I didn't have the money to pursue a specific course of study within Business. Now I wish I'd studied computer programming...but that's in the past. I had 1 computer course in college...COBOL. It cured me of computers and programming (or so I thought).

I've been the computer professional at every professional position I held "before kids"...when I was working at a wholesale mortgage company, I not only prepared all of the documents (notes, deeds of trust, RESPA statements, and all the other documents you sign until your hand cramps), but I was responsible for maintaining the computers (no such thing as a LAN back then...it was in its infancy). When the Feds shut us down (we were part of a Savings & Loan) in the 1980s, I went on to become a computer trainer.

As a computer trainer, I developed and administered training to the employees. Back then, Windows was just getting started and I loved good ol' DOS. I felt that educated users caused fewer problems overall than uneducated users...and when you have a GUI that does all the "thinking" for you, you end up with uneducated users. At least in order to use DOS, users had to have an elementary knowledge of the type of logic that computers use.

I was part of a team that developed training for all of our remote sales and services locations around the country, and was part of the team that moved us from paper-based forms that they mailed to use and we scanned in, to PC-based systems that, at the time, uploaded the days' work overnight to the mainframes.